On May 5, 2018, eight Golden Dot Awards were given to staff who exemplify Green Dot Public Schools’ core values.

The Golden Dot Awards highlighted educators and staff who demonstrate exceptional teaching, school leadership and support for our schools.

The night’s awardees were selected from our more than 1,500 inspiring teachers, staff and administrators who serve Green Dot’s 13,800 students across California, Tennessee and Washington State.

A special thank you to our generous event sponsors and the individuals who made The Sixth Annual Golden Dot Awards a success! The night would not have been made possible without the generosity and support of our title sponsor, the Oscar De La Hoya Foundation. We were honored to have world champion boxer Oscar De La Hoya speak at the event.

Classified Employee of the Year

Derek Lopez

Ánimo James B. Taylor Charter Middle School

Rising Star Teacher of the Year

Todd Anderson

Ánimo James B. Taylor Charter Middle School


Rookie Teacher of the Year

Jose Esquivel

Ánimo Jackie Robinson Charter High School

Teacher of the Year

Andrew Osterhaus

Ánimo Florence Firestone Charter Middle School


Counselor of the Year

Christian Lopez

Ánimo James B. Taylor Charter MiddleSchool

School Service Employee of the Year

Suruchi Srikanth

Strategic Planning


Assistant Principal of the Year

Christina Austin

Hillcrest High School

Principal of the Year

Mack Mossett

Ánimo Westside Charter Middle School


You may also like: