The Third Annual Golden Dot Awards Nominees

Green Dot friends and fans!

We are proud to announce the Third Annual Golden Dot Awards!

On Saturday evening, March 14th we’ll celebrate Green Dot educators and staff who are transforming the landscape of public education. This year’s Golden Dot Awards (aka “The Dotties”) will take place at the Guerin Pavilion at the Skirball Cultural Center. We’ll present 13 educators and staff with well-deserved awards celebrating Green Dot’s core values:

  • An unwavering belief in all students’ potential
  • Personal responsibility
  • Passion for excellence
  • Respect for others and the communities we serve
  • All stakeholders are critical in the education process

Here are this year’s nominees:

Core Value Award: All Stakeholders Are Critical in the Education Process

  • Beth Gourlis, Ánimo Phillis Wheatley
  • Salvador Limon, Ánimo Western
  • Scott Levester, Ánimo Watts

Core Value Award: Passion for Excellence

  • Andy Galbraith, Ánimo Venice
  • John Kwon, Ánimo Watts
  • Mashidu Ndoley, Ánimo South Los Angeles

Core Value Award: Personal Responsibility

  • Erika Antonsen, Ánimo Phillis Wheatley
  • Lizet Vera, Ánimo Watts
  • Tony Lawson, Alain Leroy Locke Academy B

Core Value Award: Respect for Others & Community

  • Kate Hicks, Alain Leroy Locke Academy A
  • Marlon Venegas, Oscar de la Hoya Ánimo
  • Paul Botello, Ánimo Pat Brown

Core Value Award: Unwavering Belief in All Students’ Potential

  • Charissa Mureen, Ánimo Western
  • Lauren Morimoto, Ánimo Watts
  • Mavis Tevaga, Ánimo Jackie Robinson

Rising Star Teacher of the Year

  • Carly Pace, Ánimo Jefferson
  • Christina Austin, Fairley High School
  • Melody Sawasaki, Ánimo South Los Angeles

Rookie Teacher of the Year

  • Devon Bixler, Ánimo Leadership
  • Francisco Alvarado, Ánimo Jefferson
  • Melissa Roselman, Ánimo Pat Brown

Counselor of the Year

  • Edward Vidaurrazaga, Ánimo South Los Angeles
  • Gloria Guevara, Alain Leroy Locke Academy B
  • Stephanie Wortham, Fairley High School

Classified Employee of the Year

  • Derek Lopez, Ánimo James B. Taylor
  • Juanita Garcia, Ánimo Venice
  • Ricardo Sosa, Oscar de la Hoya Animo

Home Office Employee of the Year

  • Cynthia Leonard
  • Phil Wolfson
  • Jeff Shultz

Assistant Principal of the Year

  • Brian Thomas-Reed, Alain Leroy Locke Academy C
  • Helene Atkinson, Ánimo Venice
  • Ife Oyedele, Ánimo South Los Angeles

Principal of the Year

  • Josh Hartford, Ánimo Pat Brown
  • Peggy Gutierrez, Alain Leroy Locke Academy C
  • Taiala Carvalho Regnier, Ánimo South Los Angeles